LibGuides: HS DP Sciences: Home

Magazine & Newspaper Subscriptions

Magazine & Newspaper Passwords
The New York Times ONLINE
The New York Times is dedicated to helping people understand the world through on-the-ground, expert and deeply reported independent journalism
Wall Street Journal ONLINE
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world
The Economist ONLINE
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them
History Today
History Today is the world's leading serious history magazine
Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review aims to provide professionals around the world to help lead themselves and their organizations more effectively and to make a positive impact

Science Sites

Science News
Science News is an independent news organization founded in 1921. We believe in the power of knowledge and the free flow of information
Science Magazine
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880
Sci-News
Sci-News.com is an independent source that provides the latest news and content on science
Science Daily
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more
EurekAlert!
EurekAlert! is a nonprofit news-release distribution platform operated by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as a resource for journalists and the public
NCBI
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Explore journals, books and articles.
The International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species
NASA: Climate change resources
NASA resources: Helping to understand our planet to benefit humankind
U.S. Geological Survey
USGS is sought out by thousands of partners and customers for its natural science expertise and its vast earth and biological data holdings.
World Health Organization - Data
WHO releases regular reports on data trends and analysis related to global health.
U.S. Centre for Disease Control
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the national public health agency of the United States.

Google Dataset Search

Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

Britannica: Image Quest

Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of royalty free images from 60 of the world's most respected image libraries. Provides high-quality, trustworthy images, with source information and citations

Mrs. Elliott's Library "how to" Videos

Visit Mrs. Elliott's How To YouTube channel for Library skill lessons. For example: How to cite, how to use our online resources, and more!

JSTOR

JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, primary sources, and books

Ebsco

Ebsco Explora Secondary
General reference database for High School Students.

Science Online

Science Online
Science Online includes specially selected content that composes a virtual study guide for the most researched scientific disciplines

PressReader

PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader provides access to more than 7,000 of the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they're available on shelves.

Open Data Sources

World Bank Open Data
World Bank Open Data is massive with 3000 datasets and 14000 indicators encompassing microdata, time series statistics, and geospatial data.
World Health Organization - Open Data Repository
WHO’s Open Data repository is how WHO keeps track of health-specific statistics of its 194 Member States. The repository keeps the data systematically organized.
Our World in Data
Our World in Data is about Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems.
Data Commons
Data Commons brings together the world's public data, making it simple to explore.
Registry of Open Data on AWS (RODA)
In RODA you can discover and share the data which is publicly available. Use keywords and tags for common types of data such as genomic, satellite imagery and transportation in order to search whatever data that you are looking for.
European Union open data portal
Access whatever open data EU institutions, agencies and other organizations publish on a single platform. The EU Open Data Portal is home to vital open data pertaining to EU policy domains. These policy domains include economy, employment, science, environment, and education.
FiveThirtyEight
A great site for data-driven journalism and story-telling. Provides its various sources of data for a variety of sectors such as politics, sports, science, economics etc. You can download the data as well.
United States Census
U.S. Census Bureau is the biggest statistical agency of the federal government. It stores and provides reliable facts and data regarding people, places, and economy of America.
Data.gov
Treasure-house of US government’s open data. Includes 180,000 datasets.
The Global Economy
Provides up-to-date numbers for GDP, inflation, credit, interest rates, employment, and many other indicators. The data series are updated continuously based on the release dates of individual countries.
Statista
Statista is a company specializing in market and consumer data
ESPN
Sports news coverage, scores, highlights and commentary for NFL, MLB, NBA, College Football, NCAA Basketball and more
"Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development" (OECD) Data
Forum where governments of 37 democracies with market-based economies collaborate to develop policy standards to promote sustainable economic growth

Mrs. Elliott's Library "how to" Videos

Visit Mrs. Elliott's How To YouTube channel for Library skill lessons. For example: How to cite, how to use our online resources, and more!