LibGuides: HS 9 MYP Humanities: China-Japan-Korea

Statement of Inquiry

"Identities and relationships shape our perspectives and influence the meaning we attribute to time, place and space"

Developing your Topic

Identity	Time	Space	Issue
Perspective 1
Perspective 2

Time: 1842-1942
Space: Asia
Perspective: Connected to your identities

Meeting between Korean and Japanese officials, 1896

A Meeting between Japanese Officers and Korean Officials, an episode from the Sino-Japanese War, late 19th century . Fine Art. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.

Active History

Active History This link opens in a new window
ActiveHistory provides entertaining, educational award-winning interactive simulations, decision-making games, self-marking quizzes, high-quality worksheets and detailed lesson plans for teachers and students

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals, primary sources, and books

Books in the Library

Daughters of the Samurai by Janice P. Nimura
Call Number: YA 920 NIM
ISBN: 9780393077995
Publication Date: 2015-05-04
Showa 1926-1939 by Shigeru Mizuki; Zack Davisson (Translator)
Call Number: GRA 952.03 MIZ
ISBN: 9781770461352
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
The Rising Sun by John Toland
Call Number: YA 940.53 TOL
ISBN: 0812968581
Publication Date: 2003-05-27
Autumn in the Heavenly Kingdom by Stephen R. Platt
Call Number: YA 951 PLA
ISBN: 9780307472212
Publication Date: 2012-12-11
Imperial Twilight by Stephen R. Platt
Call Number: YA 951.033 PLA
ISBN: 0307961737
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Under the Black Umbrella by Hildi Kang
Call Number: YA 951.903 KAN
ISBN: 9780801438547
Publication Date: 2001-03-20

Map of Japan and Korea, 1910

Map of Japan and Korea. Illustration. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.

Online Archives

The National Archives: UK
The official archive and publisher for the UK Government.
Library of Congress (USA): Digital Collections
Choose from the selected digital collections or search the catalog.
National Archives (Korea)
The depository of priceless historical records of the country.
Library and Archives Canada
Choose your search option here: image search, library search or archive search.
Wilson Center: Digital Archive Collections
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe.
MIT Visualizing Cultures
Our mission is to use new technology and visual materials to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world
National Archives (USA): Featured Exhibits
View sets and series of documents by period or event.
National Archives (USA): Search
Search the National Archives here.
British Library: Archives and Manuscripts
Search the British Library here.
Flickr: "The Commons" archived images

History Websites

History.com
Dive into thousands of historical articles and videos. To know History is to know life
BBC.com: History
Explore history with the BBC from the Egyptians to the World Wars. Browse through timelines and articles, read biographies and more
Fordham University: Websites for historians
Smithsonian: History Explorer
History Explorer's resources focus on learning history by "reading" objects for the stories they hold. Learning activities feature artifacts selected from over 3 million items in the Museum's collection
Facing History.org
Facing History and Ourselves uses lessons of history to challenge teachers and their students to stand up to bigotry and hate
Google Arts & Culture
Google Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can view high-resolution images and videos of artworks and cultural artifacts from partner cultural organizations throughout the world
Ancient History Encyclopedia
We are a non-profit organization publishing the world's most-read history encyclopedia. We engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide
Queen Mary University of London: History Useful Websites
Curated list of history websites from QMU of London

Ebsco Explora Secondary

Ebsco Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window
General reference database for High School Students.

Britannica Encyclopaedia

Britannica Encyclopaedia This link opens in a new window
An online database encyclopedia of hundreds of thousands of high-quality readings, videos and images.

Britannica Image Quest

Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of royalty free images from 60 of the world's most respected image libraries. Provides high-quality, trustworthy images, with source information and citations

Culturegrams

Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
Historical, cultural & statistical information covering 200 countries, USA states, & 13 Canadian provinces & territories

Noodletools: How To

Mrs. Elliott's Library "how to" Videos

Visit Mrs. Elliott's How To YouTube channel for Library skill lessons. For example: How to cite, how to use our online resources, and more!

Magazine & Newspaper Subscriptions

Magazine & Newspaper Passwords
The New York Times ONLINE
The New York Times is dedicated to helping people understand the world through on-the-ground, expert and deeply reported independent journalism
Wall Street Journal ONLINE
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world
The Economist ONLINE
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them
History Today
History Today is the world's leading serious history magazine
Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review aims to provide professionals around the world to help lead themselves and their organizations more effectively and to make a positive impact

HS 9 MYP Humanities: China-Japan-Korea